The Ministry of Transport test (usually abbreviated to MOT test) is an annual test of vehicle safety, roadworthiness aspects and exhaust emissions required in Great Britain for most vehicles over three years old used on any way defined as a road in the Road Traffic Act 1988; it does not apply only to highways (or in Scotland a relevant road) but includes other places available for public use which are not highways.

The name derives from the Ministry of Transport, a defunct government department which was one of several ancestors of the current Department for Transport, but is still officially used. The MOT test certificates are currently issued in Great Britain under the auspices of the Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency (DVSA), an agency of the Department for Transport. Certificates in Northern Ireland are issued by the Driver and Vehicle Agency (DVA). The test and the pass certificate are often referred to simply as the "MOT".

The MOT test covers the following aspects:

• Lighting and signalling equipment

• Steering (including suspension)

• Brakes

• Tyres and wheels

• Seat belts

• Body, structure and general items[clarification needed]

• Exhaust, fuel and emissions

• Driver's view of the road

 black binders sloping off into background
Share by: